Tree Stories

Thoi tiet
Ban do
Giao Thong
Giao Thong

Danh lam thang canh
Di tichoval1.gif (476 bytes)
Bao tang
Le hoi

Chi dan du lich
Khach san
Nha hang
Quay Luu Niem
Giai Tri

Ngan Hang
Dien thoai can thiet
Buu Chinh Vien Thong
Giao Thong

The Nine Holy Cannons

cuuvithancong2.gif (18668 bytes)

These nine holy cannons are housed in two buildings beside the The Nhan and Quang Duc Miradors in the Citadel of Hue.

On January 1st 1803, Emperor Gia Long ordered all bronze wares of the Tay Son dynasty to be collected and melt into nine cannons. The work was completed at the end of January 1804. The cannons were named after the four seasons and the five elements: Metal, Wood, Water, Fire, and Earth. They are the "Holy Invincible Generals".


Capital City:

- Dynastic Temple - The Mieu
- The Flag Tower
- Royal Library
- Royal Theater
- Noon Gate
- Throne Palace and Great Rites Court
- Hien Lam Pavilion
- Nam Giao Esplanade
- The Nine Dynastic Urns
Hue Citadel
- Pavillion of Edicts
- The Nine Holy Cannons

Historical Vestiges

Each cannon is 5.10 m long and weights more than 10 tons. Their barrels are elaborately inscribed with the titles, position order, weight, instructions, writings on fights against the Tay Son dynasty, and the collection of bronze wares for casting.

Originally, they were positioned in front of the Noon Gate, at the foot of the Royal Citadel wall, but they were later moved later by order of Emperor Khai Dinh to the present-day site.

The cannons have never been used for military purposes and just play a symbolic role as guardian spirits for the Citadel.

cuuvithancong4.gif (25018 bytes)